Relentless Defenders

Work with a Firm You Can Trust

Get the facts about your case as we discuss common myths about criminal defense.

Click Here

Firepower in the Courtroom

We Can Make a Difference in Your Case

Meet the lawyers who are ready to protect your future with the aggressive defense you need.

Click Here

Serious Defense for Serious Charges

Arrested for a federal crime?

Don’t lose hope. Our powerhouse team of federal defense lawyers can help you avoid the consequences of a federal accusation.

Learn More

For a Case Review Call 888-458-0991

Feldmann Nagel, LLC offers personalized case reviews. Let us explain your rights and what we can do to protect your future!

* See Disclaimer

Accolades & Awards

Accolates & Awards

What are the Penalties for Drunk Driving in Colorado?

Legal Guidance from a Denver DUI Lawyer

It is unlawful to drive under the influence of alcohol or drugs in all fifty United States, but the specific penalties associated with DUI vary from state to state. In Colorado, the term "DUI" can refer to two offenses:

  • Driving under the influence of alcohol
  • Driving under the influence of another controlled substance (drugs)

What is "DWAI?"

DWAI is like drunk driving, but the BAC threshold is .05% instead of .08%. The penalties associated with this offense are usually less severe than a traditional drunk driving conviction. If you are less than 21 years old, you can face DWAI or DUI charges for driving with a BAC of .02%. Click here to learn more about DWAI and DUI defense and the difference between these charges.

DUI Penalties in Colorado:

1st DUI Conviction

  • Up to one year in jail
  • $1,000 fine
  • 9 months license suspense
  • 12 license points
  • 96 hours of public service
  • Alcohol treatment program

2nd DUI Conviction

  • One year in jail
  • $1,500 fine
  • 1 year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device
  • 12 license points
  • 120 public service

3rd DUI Conviction

  • One year in jail
  • $1,500 fine
  • 2 year license suspension
  • Ignition interlock device
  • 12 license points
  • 112 hours' public service

DWAI Penalties in Colorado:

1st DWAI Conviction

  • Jail (up to 180 days)
  • $500 fine
  • 8 License Points
  • 48 hours' public service
  • No license suspension

2nd DWAI Conviction

  • One year in jail
  • $1,500 fine
  • 1 year license suspension
  • 12 license points
  • 120 hours' public service

3rd DWAI Conviction

  • 1 year in jail
  • $1,000 fine
  • 2 years' license suspension
  • 8 license points
  • 96 hours' public service

Prior DWAI & DUI Offenses

If you were arrested for DWAI and have a previous DUI conviction, you could face stricter penalties, including a $1,200 fine and up to 104 hours of public service. If you were arrested for DUI with a previous DWAI conviction, you will face up to one year in jail, a $1,500 fine, and 112 hours of public service.

Arrested? Contact a DUI attorney from Feldmann Nagel, LLC now.